The Outcasts: Brotherband Chronicles, Book 1 (The Brotherband Chronicles)

Language: English

Pages: 464

ISBN: 0142421944

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice!

They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Queens' Play (The Lymond Chronicles, Book 2)

The Khufra Run

Ghost Ship (NUMA Files, Book 12)

Celtic Fire September (Rogue Angel, Book 50)

Shadow on the Mountain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

sail hadn’t gone over the side. The Herons, with something definite to focus on, moved quickly to follow his orders. Once the snapped yard was lowered and the sail bundled untidily at the base of the mast, Stig looked to him for further orders. “Out oars?” he suggested. Hal hesitated. He looked to port. Porpoise was just visible. She was still behind them and farther out to sea. He came to a decision. “No. Hoist the starboard sail,” he said. Stig stared at him. “The starboard sail?” he echoed.

it in and out according to the wind strength and direction. In an emergency, the order might be given to “let fly the sheets!” The sheets would be released, letting the sail loose and bringing the ship to a halt. (If you were to let fly the sheets, you’d probably fall out of bed.) Way: The motion of the ship. If a ship is under way, it is moving according to its course. If it is making leeway, the ship is moving downwind so it loses ground or goes off course. Back water: To row a reverse

sailors, the mate crossed the mole and ran nimbly up the wooden ladder to the observation platform. The tower vibrated to his heavy tread and the lookout moved to one side to make room for him as he emerged onto the platform. The mate looked, frowned, looked harder. “Well, I’ll be … ,” he began, then stopped. The ship was coming about. The strange sail suddenly fluttered loose and was hauled down. As it slid down, another identical sail rose up the mast on the opposite side. It bellied out for

really off it,” Sigurd replied. Erak pursed his lips. “Maybe he is. I hope so. In any event, he was right about the Araluen boy.” He scratched his beard thoughtfully. “Let’s get back and see how Tursgud’s bunch are managing.” It was late afternoon. The Heron team had the basic structure for their barracks completed. The four floor frames and their matching roof beams were in place, the latter supported at their four corners by poles sunk into the postholes Stig and Ingvar had dug. They stood

to cause more confusion. Stay here. I’ll come back for you when it’s over.” He slipped through the trees toward the spot where the real Tursgud’s voice was coming from. Stooping, he searched around and found several good-size rocks. By now, it was becoming difficult to keep track of who was saying what, as Tursgud and the fake Tursgud continued to abuse each other. But he had a good bearing on the real Tursgud’s voice. As he drew closer, he threw a rock in the general direction. A figure rose

Download sample

Download